Once again, Johanna and I happily went to the newly renovated Alameda Theater to see, chills to my spine, the Dark Knight. We had made a pact to only walk to theatre from our house but I wanted to be at the theatre in plenty of time due to the popularity of said movie. Happily, we were able to get tickets and have time for a quickie Mexican fare dinner at Viva Mexico.
First off, the movie is long and challenging to watch for a summer blockbuster. Given that, I think it was brilliant for that genre and it beckons me to see it again, which is saying quite a bit for me nowadays…
I did just want to comment on the costume design of Batman. It’s obvious that the director wanted to put this franchise into as real of a world as a superhero movie can live in and the Batman costume has been tweeked accordingly. It is especially noticable with the mask as the new one looks more utilitarian (especially the neck area). While it makes sense to have a bat costume that is functional as well as cool to look at, I miss the stylized look of the first costume, the lines of it are just cooler…
Okay, back to work!
